Document Type


Publication Title

ADA Presidents Album


Doctor Robinson, of Baltimore, became the eightieth president of the Association at the 1942 meeting in St. Louis. Because of the war, attendance was limited to delegates and members of standing committees. Doctor Robinson served as dean of two dental schools: the University of Maryland from 1924 to 1953 and West Virginia University from 1953 to 1958. He served as president of the Maryland State Dental Association, the American Association of Dental Schools, the American College of Dentists, and the American Academy of the History of Dentistry. Doctor Robinson was the author of numerous articles on dental education and history and the book Foundations of Professional Dentistry. He received the American Dental Association Distinguished Service Award in 1972. He was born in West Virginia in 1883 and died in 1977.

Publication Date



Content comprises text (a brief biography and historical highlights), facsimile of autograph and a photographic portrait for each ADA President from 1860 to 1977.